Google Rating
5.0
Based on 12 reviews

LinkedIn is an excellent platform for students, job seekers, entrepreneurs, and practically every working person. It functions as a free billboard, a place to learn about different topics, and a massive research database while serving as a networking forum at the same time. 

At the onset, it’s not uncommon to think that there will be a few unwanted interactions on Linkedin, given its professional characteristics. Just like any other social media platform, however, not everyone that you will encounter is the type of person that you want to associate yourself with or get to know better, at the least. Scammers, spammers, and other sorts of people that most users will find the need to cut off communications with, fill LinkedIn too.

Fortunately, there’s a way for someone to cut-off communication with other users, possibly permanently, and that is to block them. 

Reasons to Block a LinkedIn User 

Some of the  reasons to consider blocking other users on LinkedIn are as follows: 

  • They spam your inbox with marketing messages.
  • They resort to rude or inappropriate language when communicating.
  • They reach out to another person’s contact list without prior knowledge or permission while representing themselves as a close friend of that person. 
  • Instead of business-related concerns, they utilize LinkedIn as a dating site. 
  • The LinkedIn profile they use is fake. Often, important details such as the person’s name, job title, a summary paragraph, and even displayed profile photos don’t correspond to one another. A simple search on Google by right-clicking on a particular LinkedIn user’s profile photo can be done to verify its legitimacy. The image may portray a famous person that the fake user pretends to be or swiped from an advertisement or other online sources.  
  • They spam others like crazy and even add other users to their newsletter subscriber list. 
  • They insist that others invest in their dubious projects. 
  • They attempt to sign other users up as an affiliate partner of their website even without a clear expression of interest in their brand. 
  • They want to be endorsed as an expert in a particular topic or field, even though they know that the user doesn’t have the required level of expertise for the job. 
  • Simply put, some people creep other users out. 

How to Block a LinkedIn User? 

Blocking a user can be done with the use of a desktop computer or any mobile device. 

What happens when users get blocked? They will appear on the blocked users’ list without receiving any notifications that another person blocked them. Also, they won’t see the other person’s profile, send them a message, and vice-versa. 

Here are the steps to block another LinkedIn user: 

  • Go to the LinkedIn app on a mobile device or access the website using a computer. 
  • Head to the profile of the member that needs to be blocked
  • Click the “More” button below the member’s profile picture. 
  • Select the “Report/Block” option from the list 
  • Choose “Block” [member name] from the “What do you want to do?” pop-up menu 
  • Click “Block” to proceed or “Go Back” to review all the other options. 

IOS and Android

For IOS and Android users, the steps to block a LinkedIn user are as follows: 

  • Go to the user’s profile.
  • Tap the “More” icon at the top right portion of the screen 
  • Tap the “Report/Block” option from the dropdown menu 
  • Tap “Block” [member’s name] 
  • Finally, tap “Block” in the confirmation pop-up window. 

Mobile Browser and Lite App

You may also block a LinkedIn user through a mobile browser and the Lite app by following these steps: 

  • Go to the user’s profile.
  • Tap the “More” icon and select “Report” or “Block” from the list 
  • Select “Block” [member name] from “What do you want to do?” 
  • Tap “Submit”

Note: A person can block up to 1000 LinkedIn members and, before being able to re-block the same member that has been unblocked, they will need to wait for 48 hours. 

Unblocking a LinkedIn User 

The steps to unblock a LinkedIn member are as follows: 

  • Click the “Me” icon at the top of the LinkedIn site’s homepage.
  • Select “Settings & Privacy” 
  • In the “Visibility” section, select “Visibility of your LinkedIn Activity.” 
  • Click on “Blocking,” then select “Change.” 
  • Find the person’s name from the list of blocked users, then click “Unblock.” 

Users shouldn’t hesitate to pull the plug (or cut the cord) when somebody isn’t exactly their cup of tea. In social networking sites such as LinkedIn, there’s no such thing as being too careful, and setting boundaries with other users is a must-have kind of skill. 

For more tools and services that your business can benefit from, visit our website.

v

CALL US

SCHEDULE APPOINMENT